Author Topic: Furniture Stores in Kofu (around the station or can be accessed by bus)  (Read 1400 times)

Offline Reinerd

• Teacher
  • Noobie
    • View Profile
Hey, I'm relatively new to Yamanashi and I'm looking for a furniture store that is somewhat close to Kofu Station for furnishing my apartment. I'm looking specifically for a couch. I've tried D2 but they seem to be out of couches. Any ideas? Thanks for reading this  :-)

Chris

Offline OxO

• Teacher
  • Sasquatch
    • View Profile
Close to Kofu station you're probally out of luck. That sort of shop is kept well away from the station since people need parking if they're picking up furniture. In Kofu where everything is designed around the assumption we all have cars (Yamanashi people are 47th out of 47 in Japan for not walking very much apparently. Woo!) especially.

Nitori (Japanese version of Ikea) is a pretty short work south of Kaisumiyoshi station.
The best place for furniture IMO is probally House Off- which is about as far from a station as you can get, a 2 mile walk south of Kofu Station and only marginly closer from Minami Kofu station...
« Last Edit: May 29, 2012, 10:59:48 AM by OxO »
毒食らわば皿まで

Offline Yamanashi PA

• PA
  • Sasquatch
    • View Profile
Most, if not all, of the furniture stores will deliver, so all you really need to worry about is getting there.  Many of the stores, Nitori, House Off, Tokyo Interiors can easily be reached by bus from Kofu Station.  You just need to find them on a map and then show that to the ticket man/lady at the bus station.  They will tell you the number and time of the next bus to take (also, ask for the name of the stop and write that down).  You can also take a shuttle bus to Aeon Mall.  There are a few places to buy furniture there.  The Shuttle runs every 45 minutes from Kofu Station and it makes no stops in between.  Laza Walk also has Muji, a furniture store, on the first floor.  Laza Walk is about a 10 minute walk South West of Shizoaki Station.