Author Topic: 2013 Sapporo Snow Festival  (Read 4083 times)

Mister.J

• Teacher
  • Ltn. Wolf
  • Offline Offline
  • Work Hard and Be NIce to People
    • View Profile
2013 Sapporo Snow Festival
« on: January 22, 2013, 01:59:59 PM »
So this years Festival starts on February 4th. 
Looking to see some ''cool'' ice sculptures along with trying the local cuisine in Sapporo.

Information can be found here.  http://www.snowfes.com/english/

I will be there on the 5th to the 8th.  And then I will be in Tokyo from 8th to the 10/11th. 

I spoke with my school's KNT agent and for the flight and hotels including a bus from Kofu to Haneda cost me a 48900 yen.   Super cheap.
I'm an okay mechanic with a GED.  The only thing I've ever been good at is be an outlaw.

WadeB

• Teacher
  • Captain Kangaroo
  • Offline Offline
    • View Profile
Re: 2013 Sapporo Snow Festival
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2013, 02:25:54 PM »
The snow festival is always a good time and probably the #1 reason for tourists to visit Sapporo. http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e6706.html also has a listing for the event. I do recommend anyone who goes to stop in Otaru as the snow candle festival is also on around the same time (http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e6706.html). It also has a few beer/Genghis Khan restaurants (Kirin, Asahi, Sapporo) that I'd recommend for after to get warmed up and to have a good time.

That said, most of the festival can probably be done in one day unless you really love looking at snow/ice sculptures. If there is anyone else heading up and loves skiing/snowboarding in different places, one of the larger resorts in Japan (Hirafu) is located in the small town of Niseko and only takes an hour by train from Sapporo. The snow looks like it never ends up there (being Hokkaido and all) and guaranteed to have great powder at that time of year. Either way, I hope whoever heads up next month has a great time  :-)

OxO

• Teacher
  • Sasquatch
  • Offline Offline
    • View Profile